

Fondazione Internazionale Balzan "Premio"

As Chairman of the General Prize Committee of the International Balzan Foundation "Prize" and on behalf of my colleagues on the Committee, I have the honour of inviting you to submit the names of candidates for the

2022 Balzan Prizes

which will be awarded in the following four subjects:

Moral Philosophy Ethnomusicology

Biomaterials for nanomedicine and tissue engineering Glaciation and ice-sheet dynamics

Each of the four 2022 Balzan Prizes is worth 750,000 Swiss francs.

Half the Prize sum will be awarded to the Prizewinner in recognition of his/her work, while the other half will later be earmarked by the Prizewinner for research projects involving young researchers or research groups. The research proposal will be subject to the approval of the General Prize Committee.

Careful consideration will be given to all nominations.

The Balzan General Prize Committee will treat your nomination, which must be signed by the nominator, in the strictest confidentiality and in compliance with existing legislation on the processing of personal data, and expects that you will similarly respect the secrecy it entails.

December 2021

Luian Maia

Luciano Maiani

Chairman; Professor Emeritus of Theoretical Physics at the University of Rome "La Sapienza"; Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome, and of the American Physical Society

FRANCES ASHCROFT

Royal Society GlaxoSmithKline Research Professor at the University Laboratory of Physiology, Oxford; Fellow of Trinity College, Oxford, and of the Royal Society, London

SIERD A.P.L. CLOETINGH

Distinguished Utrecht University Professor; President of the Academia Europæa; former President of the COST (European Cooperation in Science & Technology) Association; former Vice-President of the European Research Council; Member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters, the German Academy of Technical Sciences and honorary member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

PAOLO DE BERNARDIS

Full Professor at the Department of Physics, University of Rome "La Sapienza"; Italian Principal Investigator of the international stratospheric balloon experiment BOOMERanG; Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei and of the Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze detta dei XL, Rome

BØRGE DIDERICHSEN

Former Vice President, Novo Nordisk, Denmark; former Chairman of the International Advisory Board of VIB (Flemish Institute of Biotechnology) in Ghent

SALWA EL-SHAWAN CASTELO-BRANCO

Professor Emeritus of Ethnomusicology, Universidade Nova de Lisboa

H. CHARLES J. GODFRAY

Professor of Population Biology at the University of Oxford, Director of the Oxford Martin School and Fellow of Balliol College; Fellow of the Royal Society, London

NATHALIE HEINICH

Directeur de recherche de classe exceptionnelle in sociology at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Paris; Member of the Centre de Recherches sur les Arts et le Langage (CRAL) at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS), Paris

JULES A. HOFFMANN

Distinguished Class Research Director at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (Emeritus), Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Strasbourg; Professor at the University of Strasbourg; Member of the Académie française and former President of the Académie des sciences, Institut de France, Paris; 2011 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine

PETER KUON

Professor Emeritus of Romance Philology at the University of Salzburg

THOMAS MAISSEN

Director of the German Historical Institute in Paris; Chair in Early Modern History at the University of Heidelberg; Member of the Heidelberger Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Germany

STEPHEN MULHALL

Professor of Philosophy, Russell H. Carpenter Fellow, and Tutor in Philosophy at New College, Oxford

MARJAN SCHWEGMAN

Professor Emeritus of Political and Cultural History of the Twentieth Century, Utrecht University; former Director of the Royal Netherlands Institute in Rome; former Director of the Institute for War, Holocaust and Genocide Studies (NIOD), Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, Amsterdam

MARIA STRØMME

Professor of Nanotechnology, Head of Nanotechnology and Functional Materials Division, and Chairperson of Upptech, The Ångström Laboratory, Uppsala University; Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, the Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

PETER SUTER

Honorary Professor of Medicine at the University of Geneva; former President of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences